Monopoly Deal Rules | Problem areas not Answered in Rules
Monopoly Deal Rules
There are some rules, problems that aren’t explained in the Monopoly Deal rules, however, many members of the Board Game Geek forum took the initiative to email Hasbro for clarifications on some Monopoly Deal Rules.
Answers from Hasbro are marked as “Official” and answer which have not yet been answered officially are marked as “Unofficial.”
If you can think of rules questions that aren’t listed below, leave a comment stating the question, and I will see if I can find the answer, or I’ll follow up with Hasbro if they have not already made an official ruling.
Double the Rent:Can you play two double the rent cards together?
Unofficial Answer: While the Monopoly Deal rules don’t specifically address this issue, I think that you can play two “Double the Rent” cards along with a rent card, charging your opponent four times the normal rent and using all of your actions for the turn.
Just Say No: Does playing a “Just Say No” card on your turn count as an action?
Official Answer: “Just Say No” cards are not counted as action cards and do not count toward the three-play limit per turn.
Monopoly Deal Rules | Highly Addictive Game
House and Hotel Rent: 1) Do you get to add the value of a house and a hotel onto the rent value? 2) Are Houses and Hotels considered assets?
Official Answer 1): You only add the value of the Hotel onto the rent for properties that have a house and a hotel. Remember in traditional Monopoly there is a specific rent for houses and one for hotels. Play Monopoly Deal in the same way.
Official Answer 2): Houses and hotels, when added onto color groups, as considered assets. You may pay rent with them. If a color group containing improvements is broken up, place the improvements (houses/hotels) into your money pile. They are now money for the remainder of the game and cannot be converted back to improvements.